1- 866- 444- 4455  
    Line family scores big at BIR's bracket drag racing event  

June 24, 2007 - It was a hot and humid weekend, with temperatures in the high 80s for the majority of the race, but that didn't interfere with Brainerd International Raceway's O'Reilly Auto Parts/Snap-On Tools Bracket Drag Racing Series event.

In the Super Pro class, Greg Grundman ran his '71 Camaro to a finals win over Mike Anderson and his '65 Nova SS. Grundman was a hair slower off the starting line (.0339 to .033) but caught Anderson at the finish line, posting a 10.924 at 129.79 mph. Anderson's time was 11.432 at 129.11 mph. Al Gavlovsky and Tom Carlson were semifinalists.

In Sportsman, Brad Mickle, in his `67 Mustang, took the win with a .050 reaction time off the light and a 12.196-second run (12.20 dial) after opponent Adam Anderson claimed the larger breakout margin, with a .041 reaction and a 13.769 (13.78) run. Mickle ran 106.67 mph in the final for the win. Joe Moriarty and Paul Baillif were semifinalists.

In the Pro class, Steve Roehrs took his second victory of the season with his `82 Camaro after running a 10.820 (10.73 dial) with a .032 reaction time. Roehrs' opponent, Jason Forsland in his `71 Camaro, had the lesser reaction time off the line with a .112 light. Forsland ran an 11.208 (11.14) in the final round after receiving a bye in the previous round. Roehrs ran 116.05 mph in the final round, winning not only off the starting line but at the finish line as well. Mel Knott, who had competed against Roehrs in the final round of the Pro class at BIR's previous bracket race, was the semifinalist.

In Super Comp, Don Kritzky had to settle for second after winning the Super Comp class at the May 13 bracket race. Brian Johnson, in his `05 Cameron, had the better reaction time with a .020 and ran an 8.91 (8.90) to win the race. Kritzky, in his `06 dragster, had a .049 reaction time, but broke out after running an 8.889 (8.90). Both racers were dialed in at 8.90.

In Bike One, both racers ran near identical to their dial-in with only a 3/1000ths margin of victory for Ken Niesen. Niesen, on his `90 GSXR, had a perfect light off the starting line. Jeff Lanoue, riding a `06 Suzuki, ran 8.035 (8.03) to Niesen's 9.962 (9.96), with Niesen taking the win. Cary Hoover was the semifinalist.

In the Bike Two final, David Kari, on his `06 Harley, defeated Ron Matich after Matich broke out by 5/100ths of a second. Kari ran a 9.989 (9.95) to Matich's 10.625 (10.68) to take the victory. Dave Kieffer and Danielle Schrupp were the semifinalists.

It was a Line family battle in the Stock/Super Stock final. Ben Line, in his `69 Mustang, competed against his mother, Maxine Line, in her `68 Chevelle SS. Ben Line had the better reaction time off the line with a .033 light against Maxine's .147. Ben ran an 11.052 (10.74) to take the win. His mom's time was 11.930 (11.69). This was Ben Line's second win of the season. Scott Dugdale was the semifinalist.

In Super Street, Dave Deluney, in his `71 Nova, coupled a .023 light and a 10.920 (10.90) run to defeat Troy Luberda in his `73 Corvette. Luberda broke out by 2/100ths of a second after running a 10.885 (10.90). Corey Rinas was the semifinalist.

In Super Gas, two Dodges competed with identical 9.90 dials. Scott Ladendorf, in his `98 Avenger, paired a near perfect .001 light with an identical 9.905 (9.90) against Vern Laurin Jr., who lost off the line with a .058 reaction time and a 9.922 (9.90). Daren Erickson and Kari Larson were semifinalists.

In Comp Trophy, Scott Schuett, in his `78 Camaro, defeated Cam Grundman, driving a `71 Camaro, 12.845 (12.83) to Grundman's 12.454 (12.46). Grundman was also the runner-up in the class at the previous competition. Mandy Anderson was the semifinalist.

In Street Trophy, Angie Anderson, in her `95 Chevrolet, ran an 18.007 (18.04) to beat Paul Enga's breakout run of 15.017 (15.35). William Schuett and David Hyttsten were the semifinalists.

In the Junior Dragster Minor class, for ages 7 to 9, Christian Tharp ran a 13.357 (13.04) to beat Erin Johnson's 15.577 (15.75). Maddie Tharp was the semifinalist.

In the Junior Dragster Major class, for ages 10-12, Jacob Rhode ran a 10.178 (10.08) to beat Kalli Beaulieu's breakout of 9.827 (9.83). Jacob McCormack and Kimberly Litke were the semifinalists.

In the Junior Dragster Advanced class, Brandon Schmall ran a 9.844 (9.91) to beat Tadd Larson's 10.056 (10.09). Betsy Gust was the semifinalist.

Results of the semifinals and finals of each class are as follows:

Super Pro
Finals - Greg Grundman of St. Cloud, Minn., defeated Mike Anderson of St. Joseph, Minn.
Semifinals - (Not listed)

Finals - Steve Roehrs of Grantsburg, Wis., defeated Jason Forsland of Foreston, Minn.
Semifinals - Roehrs defeated Mel Knott of Prior Lake, Minn.; Forsland had a bye.

Finals - Brad Mickle of Lino Lakes, Minn., defeated Adam Anderson of Sartell, Minn.
Semifinals - Mickle defeated Joe Moriarty of Ham Lake, Minn.; Anderson defeated Paul Baillif of Brainerd, Minn.

Bike One
Finals - Ken Niesen of Brooklyn Park, Minn., defeated Jeff Lanque of Zimmerman, Minn.
Semifinals - Niesen had a bye; Lanque defeated Cary Hoover of Andover, Minn.

Bike Two
Finals - David Kari of Fridley, Minn., defeated Ron Matich of Baxter, Minn.
Semifinals - Kari defeated Danielle Schrupp of Mound, Minn.; Matich defeated Dave Kieffer of Spring Lake Park, Minn.

Super Comp
Finals - Brian Johnson of Anoka, Minn., defeated Don Kritzky of Cottage Grove, Minn.
Semifinals - Johnson defeated Chris Bruegger of Hudson, Wis.; Kritzky defeated Pat Nahan of St. Cloud

Super Gas
Finals - Scott Ladendorf of Burnsville, Minn., defeated Vern Laurin Jr. of Duluth, Minn.
Semifinals - Ladendorf defeated Kari Larson of Starbuck, Minn.; Laurin defeated Daren Erickson of Bagley, Minn.

Super Street
Finals - Dave Deluney of Monticello, Minn., defeated Troy Luberda of Foley, Minn.
Semifinals - Luberda had a bye; Deluney defeated Corey Rinas of Moorhead, Minn.

Stock/ Super Stock
Finals - Ben Line of Cromwell, Minn., defeated Maxine Line of Wright, Minn.
Semifinals - Ben Line had a bye; Maxine Line defeated Scott Dugdale of Circle Pines, Minn.

Comp Trophy
Finals - Scott Schuett of Little Falls, Minn., defeated Cam Grundman of St. Cloud
Semifinals - Schuett had a bye; Grundman defeated Mandy Anderson of St Cloud

Street Trophy
Finals - Angie Anderson of Sartell defeated Paul Enga of Foley
Semifinals - Anderson defeated William Schuett of Little Falls; Enga defeated David Hyttsten of Monticello