1- 866- 444- 4455  
    Luberda, Kieffers score big in O'Reilly/Snap-On Bracket Racing Series at BIR  

May 13, 2007 - This weekend, Brainerd International Raceway hosted the first of its six races in the O'Reilly Auto Parts/Snap-On Tools Bracket Drag Racing Series. More than 425 cars competed.

With skeptical weather predications, racers were left wondering how the weekend's race would pan out. The skies remained clear for the race, but strong winds lingered on throughout the day.

In Sportsman, Dan Hyttsten, in his `70 Chevelle, took the win with a .029 reaction time off the light and a 12.978-second run (12.84 dial), after opponent Chuck Fenstra only claimed a .157 reaction and a 13.529 (13.50). Hyttsten ran 95.5 mph in the final for the win. Russ Elzy and Don Wachholz were semifinalists.

Amy Jo Luberda, driving a `72 Nova, won the finals of Super Pro, when opponent Tim Perusse was forced to forfeit the race due to engine problems. Luberda tripped the light with a 1.787 reaction time for the win in the Super Pro class. Brian Johnson and Jim Sims were semifinalists.

In the Pro class, Steve Roehrs ran his `82 Camaro to win with a 10.728 (10.72 dial), nearly identical to his reaction time in the final round. Roehrs' opponent, Mel Knotts, in his `48 Pontiac, broke out with a 9.992 (10.01 dial). Mel Knott had received a bye run in the Pro class semifinals. Roehrs ran 124.75 mph with a .029 reaction time in the final round, winning not only off the starting line but at the finish line as well. Robert Ingman was the semifinalist.

In Super Comp, it was a tight race with Don Kritzky winning by only 8/1,000ths of a second against opponent Matthew Larson. Both racers left the starting line with identical dial-ins of 8.90. Larson, in his `06 dragster, had the better reaction time with a .009 but broke out with a 8.892 (8.90) run. Mike Kritzky was the semifinalist.

In Bike One, two bikes competed in a double-breakout final. Alex Barmettlar, in his `78 Kawasaki, beat Dave Kieffer, riding an `82 Honda, 10.174 (10.28) to Kieffer's 9.182 (9.25). Mike Voss was the semifinalist.

Kieffer also took runner-up in the Bike Two final. Dave Gremmer, on his `76 Kawasaki, defeated Kieffer 10.539 (10.45) to Kieffer's 11.439 (11.24). Tiffany Johnson was the semifinalist.

Ben Line, in his `69 Mustang, ran a near identical run to his dial with a 10.778 (10.77) to edge out Terry Johnson's 1/100th of a second breakout with a 10.850 (10.86) in the Stock Super Stock final. Don Wachholz was the semifinalist.

In Super Street, Jeremy Johnson, in his `73 Vega, coupled a .007-second light and a 10.947 (10.90) to defeat Ryan Scheleck with his `69 Chevelle. Amy Jo Luberda and Troy Luberda were semifinalists.

In Super Gas, two Corvettes competed with identical 9.90 dials. Chris Bishop, in his `05 Corvette, paired a .007-second light with a 9.111 (9.90) against Rick Cates, who lost off the line with a .024 reaction time and a 9.910 (9.90). Jeff Cheney and Jim Laborde were semifinalists.

In Comp Trophy, Mandy Anderson, in her `79 Caprice, defeated Cam Grundman, driving a `71 Camaro, 13.774 (13.76) to Grundman's 12.426 (12.38). Jim Burns was the semifinalist.

In Street Trophy, Nick Arnold, in his `04 Silverado, ran a 15.070 (14.99) to beat Darren Arnold's breakout run of 14.542 (14.56). John Knebel was the semifinalist.

Results of the semifinals and finals of each class are as follows:

Super Pro
Finals - Amy Jo Luberda of St. Cloud, Minn., defeated Tim Perusse of Baudette, Minn.
Semifinals - Luberda defeated Jim Sims of Brainerd, Minn.; Perusse defeated Brian Johnson of Minnesota.

Finals - Steve Roehrs of Grantsburg, Wis., defeated Mel Knott of Prior Lake, Minn.
Semifinals - Roehrs defeated Robert Ingman of Andover, Minn.; Knott had a bye.

Finals - Dan Hyttsten of Becker, Minn., defeated Chuck Fenstra of Crosby, Minn.
Semifinals - Hyttsten defeated Russ Elzy of Becker; Fenstra defeated Don Wachholz of Mayer, Minn.

Bike One
Finals - Alex Barmettlar of Maplewood, Minn., defeated Dave Kieffer of Spring Lake Park, Minn.
Semifinals - Barmettlar had a bye; Kieffer defeated Mike Voss of Maplewood.

Bike Two
Finals - Dave Gremmer of North Branch, Minn., defeated Dave Kieffer of Spring Lake Park.
Semifinals - Gremmer had a bye; Kieffer defeated Tiffany Johnson of Fridley, Minn.

Super Comp
Finals - Don Kritzky of Cottage Grove, Minn., defeated Matthew Larson of Howard Lake, Minn.
Semifinals - Kritzky had a bye; Larson defeated Mike Kritzky of St. Paul Park, Minn.

Super Gas
Finals - Chris Bishop of Grand Rapids, Minn., defeated Rick Cates.
Semifinals - Bishop defeated Jeff Cheney of Cambridge, Minn.; Cates defeated Jim Laborde of Hibbing, Minn.

Super Street
Finals - Jeremy Johnson of Jordan, Minn., defeated Ryan Scheleck of St. Cloud.
Semifinals - Johnson defeated Troy Luberda of Foley, Minn.; Scheleck defeated Amy Jo Luberda of St. Cloud.

Stock/ Super Stock
Finals - Ben Line of Cromwell, Minn., defeated Terry Johnson of Maple Grove, Minn.
Semifinals - Line had a bye; Johnson defeated Don Wachholz of Mayer.

Comp Trophy
Finals - Mandy Anderson of St. Cloud defeated Cam Grundman of St. Cloud.
Semifinals - Anderson had a bye; Grundman defeated Jim Burns of Cloquet, Minn.

Street Trophy
Finals - Nick Arnold of St. Michael, Minn., defeated Darren Arnold of Hopkins, Minn.
Semifinals - Nick Arnold had a bye; Darren Arnold defeated John Knebel of Pillager, Minn.