1- 866- 444- 4455  
    Schmall takes Pro class; many new faces steal highly desired victories  

(July 29, 2007) - With only two races remaining in the six-race bracket drag racing series at Brainerd International Raceway, every run down the track is gaining importance for most drivers as they jockey for position in the points standings.

In the Pro class, Joe Schmall of Lino Lakes, Minn., ran his 1969 Plymouth Fury to defeat Steve Roehrs of Grantsburg, Wis. Schmall, who is currently in fourth place in the Pro class, gained valuable points as he chased Roehrs, who is leading the class and was also the No. 1 qualifier last weekend. Schmall ran 108.74 mph in the final round after receiving a bye in the previous round.

In the Super Pro class, Scott Dugdale of Circle Pines, Minn., ran his 1969 Chevelle to defeat Mark Hovorka of Ramsey, Minn. Dugdale's time was 10.807 seconds in the final round.

In Sportsman, Sheryl Takacs, of Thunder Bay, Ontario, won when Joe Moriarty of Ham Lake, Minn., broke out. Takacs, in her 1971 Camaro, ran a 12.180 (12.15 dial), with a .033 reaction time. Moriarty broke out by 4/1000ths of a second after running a 12.096 (12.10 dial).

Takacs is ranked fifth in points for the class with Moriarty trailing in sixth.

The No. 1 qualifier for the Sportsman class was Dan Hyttsten. Jeff Galema and Brad Mickle were semifinalists.

Results of the semifinals and finals of each class are as follows:

Super Pro
Finals - Greg Grundman of St. Cloud, Minn., defeated Mike Anderson of St. Joseph, Minn.
Semifinals - (Not listed)

Finals - Steve Roehrs of Grantsburg, Wis., defeated Jason Forsland of Foreston, Minn.
Semifinals - Roehrs defeated Mel Knott of Prior Lake, Minn.; Forsland had a bye.

Finals - Brad Mickle of Lino Lakes, Minn., defeated Adam Anderson of Sartell, Minn.
Semifinals - Mickle defeated Joe Moriarty of Ham Lake, Minn.; Anderson defeated Paul Baillif of Brainerd, Minn.

Bike One
Finals - Ken Niesen of Brooklyn Park, Minn., defeated Jeff Lanque of Zimmerman, Minn.
Semifinals - Niesen had a bye; Lanque defeated Cary Hoover of Andover, Minn.

Bike Two
Finals - David Kari of Fridley, Minn., defeated Ron Matich of Baxter, Minn.
Semifinals - Kari defeated Danielle Schrupp of Mound, Minn.; Matich defeated Dave Kieffer of Spring Lake Park, Minn.

Super Comp
Finals - Brian Johnson of Anoka, Minn., defeated Don Kritzky of Cottage Grove, Minn.
Semifinals - Johnson defeated Chris Bruegger of Hudson, Wis.; Kritzky defeated Pat Nahan of St. Cloud

Super Gas
Finals - Scott Ladendorf of Burnsville, Minn., defeated Vern Laurin Jr. of Duluth, Minn.
Semifinals - Ladendorf defeated Kari Larson of Starbuck, Minn.; Laurin defeated Daren Erickson of Bagley, Minn.

Super Street
Finals - Dave Deluney of Monticello, Minn., defeated Troy Luberda of Foley, Minn.
Semifinals - Luberda had a bye; Deluney defeated Corey Rinas of Moorhead, Minn.

Stock/ Super Stock
Finals - Ben Line of Cromwell, Minn., defeated Maxine Line of Wright, Minn.
Semifinals - Ben Line had a bye; Maxine Line defeated Scott Dugdale of Circle Pines, Minn.

Comp Trophy
Finals - Scott Schuett of Little Falls, Minn., defeated Cam Grundman of St. Cloud
Semifinals - Schuett had a bye; Grundman defeated Mandy Anderson of St Cloud

Street Trophy
Finals - Angie Anderson of Sartell defeated Paul Enga of Foley, Minn.
Semifinals - Anderson defeated William Schuett of Little Falls; Enga defeated David Hyttsten of Monticello