Reutzel crowned King of the Track

Travis Reutzel is on a hot streak that even he can’t explain. When the Bracket Drag Racing Series wrapped up this weekend, Reutzel was holding a Wally trophy after earning the title of King of the Track and was sitting in first place in the Pro ET Class. Not bad.

King Travis Reutzel

King Travis Reutzel

Reutzel said he was struggling at the starting line all weekend but he and his 1967 Camaro were still able to post consistent runs. Even though he didn’t win in the Super Pro and Pro ET classes, he made it to the quarterfinals and the semifinals in Pro ET, which was good enough to overtake Bob Ingman at the top of the point standings with one weekend left.

“I don’t know what was going through my mind,” Reutzel said when referring to entering the King of the Track runoff. “I was basically trying to get in the zone. It’s all about focus. Focus, focus, focus.”

The King of the Track race is an annual competition to determine the best of the best in the Bracket Drag Racing Series. The top two racers in the point standings of each class race each other to determine who represents the class. And then winners are paired up for a runoff, with the last racer standing crowned King of the Track. All seven classes, except the Junior Dragster classes, are included.

Reutzel beat a tough customer in the finals – Brandon Schmall, who was representing the Super Pro class and has been consistently at the top of the point standings all season. The two were about dead even off the starting line but Reutzel nipped him by about 4/100ths of a second at the finish line after making a 9.180-second pass at 144.36 mph.

The race was the fifth of six Bracket Drag Racing Series weekends, where racers now have two chances to win their class and earn valuable points toward a series championship at the end of the year. This year, there are eliminations both Saturday and Sunday during race weekends. The final Bracket Drag Racing Series weekend is Sept. 28-29.

While Reutzel was celebrating his King of the Track honors, Ben Line was celebrating a double win in Stock/Super Stock, which vaulted him into first place in the point standings.

Ben Line won both Stock/Super Stock races.

Ben Line won both Stock/Super Stock races.

Line seems to have his 1969 Mustang dialed in now, which is bad news for the rest of the drivers in that class. Line has won the series championship in Stock/Super Stock five of the last six seasons, including the last two seasons. He’s on a mission to “three-peat” and now has a commanding lead over Tim Lisson, who’s in second place.

Line beat Glen DeMenge in Saturday’s final with a run of 10.639 seconds and 121.83 mph, and then knocked off Craig Meseroll in Sunday’s final, running 10.733 seconds and 116.40 mph.

The Super Pro Class, which is typically the largest and fastest class, is up for grabs, with Terry Pease holding on to a slim lead over Schmall and a handful of other contenders. With 78 cars in the field this weekend, Jason Charlton played spoiler Saturday by beating Ryan Scheleck in the finals. Charlton isn’t in the points standings but had a good weekend with his ’74 Nova. His winning time was 10.032 seconds at 130.90 mph.

Schmall and his 1970 Challenger won Sunday’s race by beating Rodney Thompson with a time of 10.186 seconds and 120.95 mph.

The following are results from the Aug. 3-4 Bracket Drag Racing Series action. Click here to view the point standings.

King of the Track
Finals: Travis Reutzel of Eden Valley def. Brandon Schmall of Lino Lakes
Semifinals: Reutzel def. Nick Arnold of St. Louis Park; Schmall had a bye


Super Pro
Finals: Jason Charlton of Grand Rapids def. Ryan Scheleck of St. Cloud
Semifinals: Charlton had a bye; Scheleck def. Donnie Durenberger of Dayton

Pro ET
Finals: Chuck Roycraft of Minnetonka def. Wally Higby of Maple Grove
Semifinals: Roycraft def. Jerry Jolly of Vadnais Heights; Higby def. Dave Engler of Ramsey

Finals: Dale Richter of St. Joseph def. Don Wachholz of Mayer
Semifinals: Richter def. Ron Starks of St. Paul; Wachholz def. Chris Henry of Sauk Rapids

Stock/Super Stock
Finals: Ben Line of International Falls def. Glen DeMenge of McGregor
Semifinals: Line had a bye; DeMenge def. Alan Litke of Pierz

Pro Bike/Sled
Finals: Kyle Lundberg of Isanti def. Mike Voss of Maplewood
Semifinals: Lundberg def. Brad Harder of Waconia; Voss had a bye

Comp Trophy
Finals: Keith Larson of Brainerd def. Darren Arnold of Eden Prairie
Semifinals: Larson had a bye; Arnold def. Jared Hutar of Cromwell

Street Trophy
Finals: Nick Arnold of St. Louis Park def. Joe Moriarty Jr. of Ham Lake
Semifinals: Arnold had a bye; Moriarty Jr. def. Brandon Kellen of St. Cloud

Jr Dragster Advanced
Finals: Jordan Pratt of Otsego def. Maggie Ruzich of Hibbing
Semifinals: Pratt had a bye; Ruzich def. Erin Johnson of Anoka

Jr Dragster Intermediate
Finals: Sydney Haben of Hibbing def. Sarah Johnson of Nowthen
Semifinals: Haben def. Zachary Zavadil of Clearwater; Johnson had a bye

Jr Dragster Novice
Finals: Cameron Beaulieu of Cambridge def. Sami Cielinski of Gilman


Super Pro
Finals: Brandon Schmall of Lino Lakes def. Rodney Thompson of Anoka
Semifinals: Schmall had a bye; Thompson def. Terry Pease of Blaine

Pro ET
Finals: Reno Loeffelholz of Shafer def. Mike Sonnek of Hutchinson
Semifinals: Loeffelholz def. James Erickson of Ortonville; Sonnek def. Travis Reutzel of Eden Valley

Finals: Grant Pesola of Duluth def. Rory Emmans of Dayton
Semifinals: Pesola def. Don Wachholz of Mayer; Emmans def. Brad Mickle of Lino Lakes

Stock/Super Stock
Finals: Ben Line of International Falls def. Craig Meseroll of Cloquet
Semifinals: Line def. Steve Hutar of Cromwell; Meseroll def. Corey Hopkins of North Branch

Pro Bike/Sled
Finals: Brad Harder of Waconia def. Josh LaValle of Rice
Semifinals: Harder def. Mike Voss of Maplewood; LaValle def. Kyle Lundberg of Isanti

Comp Trophy
Finals: Chelsea Hjelle of Karlstad def. Keith Larson of Brainerd
Semifinals: Hjelle had a bye; Larson def. Sid Osterman of Pequot Lakes

Street Trophy
Finals: Brandon Kellen of St. Cloud def. Tyler Gadacz of Little Falls
Semifinals: Kellen def. Joe Moriarty Jr. of Ham Lake; Gadacz def. Tracy Arneson of Pillager

Jr Dragster Advanced
Finals: Erin Johnson of Anoka def. Maggie Ruzich of Hibbing
Semifinals: Johnson def. Abby Haben of Hibbing; Ruzich def. Emily Durenberger of Dayton

Jr Dragster Intermediate
Finals: Zachary Zavadil of Clearwater def. Sydney Thompson of Anoka
Semifinals: Zavadil def. Sydney Haben of Hibbing; Thompson had a bye

Jr Dragster Novice
Finals: Aaron Clampitt of Lino Lakes def. Cameron Beaulieu of Cambridge
Semifinals: Clampitt had a bye; Beaulieu def. Sami Cielinski of Gilman


Leave a Reply

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE